Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Home: Welcome

Welcome to the Pennsylvania Institute of Technology's Library online guide.

Welcome

Welcome! 

P.I.T. Library is committed to supporting the academic, research,

and information needs of students, faculty, and staff. The Library

does this by providing access to high-quality, scholarly, and

academically appropriate resources, library services, information

literacy instruction, and the support of an experienced academic librarian.

Library Curbside Service

Updated October 27, 2020

P.I.T. Library is committed to providing library patrons expanded access to digital resources and safe access to physical materials through a limited curbside pickup service. Curbside pickup is available on the Media campus, Monday - Saturday. 

Please note: Library FAQ's - How to Login PITCat

Library Contact Information

undefined

 

 Email -  library@pit.edu

 Phone - (610) 892 - 1524

 Text/SMS - (610) 839-7675

 

Library Director

Kristin Bernet's picture
Kristin Bernet
Contact:
Pennsylvania Institute of Technology Library
800 Manchester Rd. Media PA 19063
610-892-1524

PITCat - Media Campus Library Catalog

PIT Library Research Gudies

PIT Databases

Library Resources and Services

Library Resources and Services:

  • Research Databases - The A - Z Database LibGuide is the easiest way to access all of the available research databases, open educational resources, and open access resources that have been evaluated by the Librarian and meet the high academic standards of our curriculum and the scholarly research of PIT. Available databases and academic resources provide access to over a million online journals, magazines, newspapers, e-Books, dissertations, financial data, and streaming media. All PIT databases are available off-campus by single-sign-on (SSO) with your PIT username and password. 
  • Ask a Librarian - Students can receive library assistance 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days of the year via the Ask a Librarian self-service Library FAQ. Ask a Librarian, the Library FAQs collection, allows patrons to search the Library's ever-expanding database of frequently asked questions for immediate assistance. If their question does not have an immediate response available, PIT Students, faculty, and staff may complete the Ask a Librarian Form. Questions submitted via the Ask a Librarian form are answered promptly during staffed library hours.
  • Research Consultation - The Librarian is available for one-on-one research consultations. This is an in-depth and personalized meeting with the reference librarian. Research consultations are available in either 30 or 60-minute sessions.  For more information about research consultations or to schedule an appointment please email Mrs. Bernet directly or see her in the campus library. 
  • Library Workshops & In-class Instruction - Faculty may schedule an instruction session, for on-campus or virtually for online courses, to address information literacy, critical thinking for research, advanced research skills, and/or subject or assignment specific library instruction. Contact Mrs. Bernet for more information or to schedule your class instruction session. Students may attend monthly drop-in workshops, held in the student workroom within the library. No pre-registration is required to attend any drop-in workshops. Topics change monthly and sessions are either 15-minute "Library Quick Help" or a 30-minute, more in-depth, "Library Skills for Success" session. A schedule of events is published on the Library Home LibGuide and announced in the monthly library eNewsletter. 

Library Winter Warm-up