PIT LibGuides: Physical Therapist Assistant: eResources &amp; Videos

Customizable PT Patient Handouts

Pain Management Associates provides a wide range of PT services in California. This medical practice provides customizable patient handouts for a wide array of physical therapy diagnosis.

Customizable Patient Handouts
2005 American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons_ customizable PT patient handouts and exercise outlines

APTA Twitter Thread

PT Exercise Web Resources

12 Common Physical Therapy Treatments and Modalities

Videos

Physical Therapy Websites

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
Founded in 1933, the Academy is the preeminent provider of musculoskeletal education to orthopaedic surgeons and others in the world. Its continuing medical education activities include a world-renowned Annual Meeting, multiple CME courses held around the country and at the Orthopaedic Learning Center, and various medical and scientific publications and electronic media materials.
The American Physical Therapy Association
APTA is an individual membership professional organization representing more than 100,000 member physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students.
OrthoInfo (AAOS)
OrthoInfo is the patient education website of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS).
more...less...
The site provides students, patients, and their families with convenient, online access to more than 500 easy-to-understand articles and videos on orthopaedic conditions and treatments, injury prevention, rehabilitation, and healthy living.

OrthoInfo was created to support orthopaedic surgeons in their discussions with patients by providing trustworthy and nonbiased online educational resources. Using OrthoInfo, doctors and other healthcare providers can share images, articles and videos on a variety of topics—from arthritis and sports injuries, to preparing for surgery, pain management and recovery—from a mobile phone or tablet.
Physiotec Exercise Gallery
* Create a free student access account.
"We’ve spent over two decades building our exercise library with input from rehabilitation specialists from around the globe. Browse our ever-expanding multidisciplinary gallery and you’ll see the care we’ve put into each exercise. Our beautifully designed, high-quality content will inspire your patients. And from a technical standpoint, all videos and instructions are reviewed by our experts to ensure the best movement execution."
Prescriber's Digital Reference (PDR)
PDR delivers innovative health knowledge products & services that support prescribing decisions & patient adherence to improve health. A leading provider of behavior-based prescription management programs, PDR provides event-driven & clinically relevant healthcare messaging through its patented process that improves patient compliance, outcomes, and preserves privacy.
more...less...
US-based MDs, DOs, NPs and PAs in full-time patient practice can register for free on PDR.net. PDR.net is to be used only as a reference aid. It is not intended to be a substitute for the exercise of professional judgment. You should confirm the information on the PDR.net site through independent sources and seek other professional guidance in all treatment and diagnosis decisions.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
more...less...
The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Merk Manual: Physical Therapy Fundamentals
Physical Therapy Exercises; Muir Orthopedic Specialists
Our sports medicine specialists have provided extensive physical therapy exercises to help during the rehabilitation and recovery process. Below are exercises that pertain to the ankle, core muscles, hip, knee, shoulder and spine. This is not a complete list of our physical therapy exercises, and more will be added in the future.
more...less...
About Muir Orthopedic Specialist: Northern California Orthopedic Care Muir Orthopaedic Specialists (MOS) is one of the most comprehensive orthopedic centers in the Bay Area. By integrating diagnostic, treatment, surgical and rehabilitation services, we have encompassed most aspects of treatment in one unique orthopedic plaza.

Cornell University: PT Exercises OER

The following videos are designed to demonstrate exercises prescribed by Cornell Health physical therapist. This is an Open Educational Resource (OER) provided by Cornell University.

Closed captioning: Real-time text transcription is available for these videos. Once you start a video, click on the "interactive transcript" button just below the video.