PIT LibGuides: Physical Therapist Assistant: Databases

Library Databases - Tip Sheets

Use these tip sheets for assistance with the databases if the Librarian is not available or you are off-campus.

Physical Therapy Websites

The American Physical Therapy Association
APTA is an individual membership professional organization representing more than 100,000 member physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students.
OrthoInfo (AAOS)
OrthoInfo is the patient education website of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS).
more...less...
The site provides students, patients, and their families with convenient, online access to more than 500 easy-to-understand articles and videos on orthopaedic conditions and treatments, injury prevention, rehabilitation, and healthy living.

OrthoInfo was created to support orthopaedic surgeons in their discussions with patients by providing trustworthy and nonbiased online educational resources. Using OrthoInfo, doctors and other healthcare providers can share images, articles and videos on a variety of topics—from arthritis and sports injuries, to preparing for surgery, pain management and recovery—from a mobile phone or tablet.
The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
Founded in 1933, the Academy is the preeminent provider of musculoskeletal education to orthopaedic surgeons and others in the world. Its continuing medical education activities include a world-renowned Annual Meeting, multiple CME courses held around the country and at the Orthopaedic Learning Center, and various medical and scientific publications and electronic media materials.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
more...less...
The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Prescriber's Digital Reference (PDR)
PDR delivers innovative health knowledge products & services that support prescribing decisions & patient adherence to improve health. A leading provider of behavior-based prescription management programs, PDR provides event-driven & clinically relevant healthcare messaging through its patented process that improves patient compliance, outcomes, and preserves privacy.
more...less...
US-based MDs, DOs, NPs and PAs in full-time patient practice can register for free on PDR.net. PDR.net is to be used only as a reference aid. It is not intended to be a substitute for the exercise of professional judgment. You should confirm the information on the PDR.net site through independent sources and seek other professional guidance in all treatment and diagnosis decisions.

Physical Therapy Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Premier
Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals.
AccessPhysiotherapy
AccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
more...less...
Guided by an esteemed Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Annie Burke-Doe, PhD, and Eric Shamus, PhD, AccessPhysiotherapy is the field’s most trusted physiotherapy resource.

AccessPhysiotherapy provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.
AccessScience
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. With these and other online features, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.
CREDO Federated Search
Search PIT databases simultaneously
Gale eBooks (GVRL)
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Gale Health and Wellness
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
Interactive Human Anatomy (Gale)
An advanced tool to support the study of Human Anatomy. Gale's Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse into interactive online research.
more...less...
Starting URL - sent to OCLC 2/21/2020 https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/pl9014?db=IANAT&id=trial
News (Gale OneFile)
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Gale Power Search
Search all Gale databases simultaneously

Physical Therapist Assistant: Databases

Library Databases - Tip Sheets

Physical Therapy Websites

Physical Therapy Databases

APTA Centennial