Computer and Information Technology: Databases and Online Resources

IEEE
Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers

AITP
Association of Information Technology Professionals

ACADIA
Association for Computer Aided Design in Architecture

CAD
The CAD Society

ACM
Association for Computing Machinery

TenLinks
A network of websites and newsletters from CAD, CAM and CAE users.

Slashdot
Source for technology related news.

Science Daily: Computer Science
Top science news stories from the world’s leading universities and research organizations.

Google can be a great tool for finding information but generally search engines strive for quantity, not quality when it comes to results.  Here are some useful searching tips:

• Use quotes around a phrase if you want to find words in a specific order ("stem cells").
• Start your search with  site: if you want to limit to a specific website (site:nytimes.com) or domain type (site:edu).
• Put define: in front of any word to get its definition (define:citation).
• Try searching Google Scholar to find scholarly articles.  You might not get the full text but we can search our databases or request article copies from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
• Google Books searches full text of books and magazines.  Some books might be fully available online.  Others might only allow a snippet view.

Codeacademy - Teaching the world to code.

The Computational Science Education Reference Desk (CSERD) - Funded by the National Science Foundation, aims to help students learn about computational science and to help teachers incorporate it into the classroom.

DreamSpark - A Microsoft program supporting technical education with free developer tools to students.

HTML5 Rocks - Open web HTML5 resources, supported by Google.

Eloquent JavaScript - A free e-book providing a thorough introduction to javascript language and programming.

Learnable - Beginner to advances tutorials so you can "build your skills."

NASA in PMC -  All National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) funded research articles.

National Technical Information Service - A central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.

SitePoint - A resource for designers and developers offering cutting edge content.

Udacity - Free online college courses in computer science, as well as other fields.

W3Schools - Free tutorials in all web development technologies.

ipl2 (Internet Public Library): Still available for use, but no longer updated. A searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites. Includes links to online texts, newspapers, and magazines.

Internet Archive: a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

• Wayback Machine

USA.gov: A free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.

Voice of the Shuttle (Sponsored by Univ. of California, Santa Barbara): Click on your topic from the list displayed.