Engineering: Mechanical Engineering Website Resources

ASEE
American Society for Engineering Education

SWE
Society of Women Engineers

ASME
American Society of Mechanical Engineers

ipl2 (Internet Public Library): Still available for use, but no longer updated. A searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites. Includes links to online texts, newspapers, and magazines.

Internet Archive: a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

• Wayback Machine

USA.gov: A free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.

Voice of the Shuttle (Sponsored by Univ. of California, Santa Barbara): Click on your topic from the list displayed.

Khan Academy - Online training site

eFunda = engineering Fundamentals - "An online destination for the engineering community,...quickly find concise and reliable information...daily reference needs. eFunda is all about the basics."

The Engineering Toolbox - "Resources, tools and basic information for engineering."

Java Applets for Engineering Education - Funded by the National Science Foundation and Virginia Tech.

NASA in PMC -  All National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) funded research articles.

NCEES - A national nonprofit dedicated to advancing licensure among engineers.

Tribology - Provides information, software and tools for engineers.

Search directories are collections of websites organized by subject area. Expert editors may evaluate a website's reliability and quality before including it in the directory. Two we use for academic research are:

Google can be a great tool for finding information but generally search engines strive for quantity, not quality when it comes to results.  Here are some useful searching tips:

• Use quotes around a phrase if you want to find words in a specific order ("stem cells").
• Start your search with  site: if you want to limit to a specific website (site:nytimes.com) or domain type (site:edu).
• Put define: in front of any word to get its definition (define:citation).
• Try searching Google Scholar to find scholarly articles.  You might not get the full text but we can search our databases or request article copies from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
• Google Books searches full text of books and magazines.  Some books might be fully available online.  Others might only allow a snippet view.